Are You a Trilingual Interpreter Working in Mental Health?

Visual description: BAM, the Visual Gestural Specialist for ODS, in front of a gray backdrop. He presents as a seated Black male with braided black hair, a short goatee, and tattoos on both forearms. He is wearing a short gray sleeve shirt with a sleeveless black zip up vest over it. There is a small patch on the left chest area that reads, “Alabama Department of Mental Health.” He has a black watch on his left wrist.

[Image Description] Neutral color background with light brown flower art on both corners of the flyer with small white dots in the middle. Center of the flyer there are 11 raised hands each representing different ethnicities. Below that off-white box says “Are you a Trilingual Interpreter Working in Mental Health?” Come Join Us to Share Your Experiences and Learn From others Like You!” “Facilitators: Sandy Pascual, NIC, MA, MBA, QMHI, CCHI & Mansilla, QMHI, MA BEI ADVANCED TRILINGUAL, NIC.” The lower left of the flyer in a light brown oval says “When: Nov. 5th, 2022. Where: Zoom. Time: 9 a.m. PST/ 10 a.m. MST/ 11 a.m. CST/ 12 p.m. EST Free of charge.” On the right-hand side of the flyer says “Registration: HTTPS://FORMS.OFFICE.COM/G/FBDRZWPESV Send your registration by 10/21/2022.” At the bottom it has 4 different logos belonging to different organizations, a black circle with white
letters RID, below that is a white rectangle with black letters ACET: Associate Continuing Education Tracking, and next to that in dark red letters Mano a Mano with 2 hands reaching for each other, next to that in blue letters placed in different order MHTI. Below that says “ODS is
an approved RID CMP Sponsor for continuing education activities. This program is offered for 0.2 CEUS at the PS Content Knowledge Level. RID Activity code 0263.1122.14 ODS promotes an environment of mutual respect free of discrimination based on gender, sexual orientation,
race, religion, or any other protected class. For more information; and for reasonable accommodations, contact us at: claudia.mansilla@mh.alabama.gov or sandy.pascual@mh.alabama.gov”

Last Day!: Makeba Orr Smith Scholarship

Friday is your last day to apply for the Makeba Orr Smith Scholarship!

It’s open to all BIPOC interpreters looking to become nationally certified. You must have already passed the NIC written exam.

This scholarship
– Provides you with mentorship for testing
– Will cover the cost of the national test

If you’d like to apply, please visit the link below!
https://www.thesosagency.com/scholarship-application/

Recipient winners will be announced on October 10th!

Monthly Trilingual Practice Session: July 28th

Image description:

A flyer with a black background and blue text reads, Mano a mano

Underneath is a white line

Underneath in blue text reads: TRILINGUAL PRACTICE SESSION underneath is a white line across the flyer. It reads in blue text, Open monthly practice sessions for trilingual (Spanish, English, ASL) interpreters – current and aspiring.

Underneath in yellow text, 2 hour session

Thursday, July 28th 

5PM PST• 6PM MST • 7PM CST • 8PM EST 

Left bottom of flyer: IMAGE of a Computer Display with a zoom style video conference cartoon image with outlines of people, one with a speech bubble, and a cartoon image of a book on top.

Right: VIA Zoom

Meeting ID: 869 5820 7799

Passcode: 432032

MaM LOGO the logo is two hands connected, the left one is in a sepia and the right is gray. It reads mano a mano in that sepia tone. There is also a sepia color circle around the hands and the phrase mano a mano.

Skip to content